So very tired

Well, it happened. I found myself not updating here. And I apologize. When I started this blog, it was my goal to update at least once a week. And I failed.

Life has gotten a little more than crazy. Starting on April 10 when my boyfriend of over two years proposed to me when I was least expecting it. While we won’t be tying the knot for a little while still, some preliminary planning has already taken place.

On top of things at work getting incredibly busy, editing my book being put on hiatus, and playoff hockey starting two weeks ago, and my birthday being this past weekend with Monday off that lead to a shopping day, I haven’t had much time to think. Mostly from the playoff hockey.

See the picture of Homer Simpson in this post, driving the car surrounded by beds? That’s how I feel right now.  The Detroit Red Wings are playing the Anaheim Ducks in this first round and Game 5 last night went to overtime (the third time this series). It didn’t end until 1:15am and I had to be up at 7am for work.

I don’t function well on less than six hours of sleep.

It’s the time of year where I gorge on hockey. And don’t mind me geeking out a little here…

Case in point: Last Friday night, my brother invited me over to watch hockey since both our better halfs had something else to do. The Pittsburgh Penguins/New York Islanders game started at 7pm and was broadcast on NBCSN. When that went to intermission, we easily flipped to the CBC to watch the Ottawa Senators/Montreal Canadiens game and when that went to intermission, we flipped back to PIT/NYI for the second. And then at 9:30pm, the Chicago Blackhawks/Minnesota Wild started. We literally watched nothing but hockey until 10:30 that night. Not even commercials.

It was when the CHI/MIN game hit its first intermission that I said I had to go home. I was falling asleep on the couch. After a 10:30pm start on Tuesday evening and a 10pm start (with the game going to overtime) on Thursday, I was a little more than tired.

And yet by the time I managed to leave his house, the second period was starting and he was trying to rope me into staying until the first commercial break.

But back to the writing!

My goal has always been to do a second round of edits on On The Border, send them back in, get a quick proof to make sure everything looks good, and finally publish it, all before my June 9 trip to Walt Disney World.

It is May 9 and my second round of edits is only up to chapter thirteen. Out of twenty-five chapters. All hope is not lost, but it’s been a solid two weeks since I’ve sat down to edit at all.

Not to mention I have to re-work my pitch. At the end of April, I had a phone call with The Book Doctors, which was a lot of fun. I talked with David and we found a fondness for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. He gave me insight into what I needed to change with my pitch/summary.

I have yet to start.

It’s time to change all of that. I’m going to go home after work tonight and edit at least three chapters of On The Border. I need to kick myself back into shape. I can’t get too down on myself or else I’ll never keep going.

I’m so close to my goal that I can’t stop now.

