Day: 8

Daily Word Count: 1203/1667

Total Word Count: 16,212/50,000

Favorite Line (or two) Written Today: “This mysterious Jason now had something in common with me; I wanted to know how much in common we had.”

Inspirational Song of the Day:
My brother sent it to me: “I’m Selling My Pork Chops (But I’m Giving My Gravy Away)” by Memphis Minnie.

Fun Little Snippet From Today’s Writing: Creepy main characters are creepy!

My team back in DC had kept close eyes on her travels. After fleeing the capital, she hitchhiked down to the Carolinas and used nondescript public transportation to make it from big city to big city. Smart on her part—I had not thought of her using the bus systems in metropolises to move around, but it made perfect sense. How else would she move so quickly from Washington DC to Atlanta in less than two weeks’ time? No reports of excessive amounts of hitchhikers along the highway, so she had opted to stay off the radar, which was smart after the Hope Diamond broadcast.

My phone vibrated. A text from HQ. She’s within three blocks of your vicinity. It’s getting late and cold. Maybe look for an underpass and camp out. Crum gave me advice as if I had not been doing this for the majority of my life. I opted to hold back on a sarcastic text reply. Sundance had been panhandling in Atlanta for a few days and spent most nights on park benches. However, the last few evenings (the current one included) found a heavy frost settling on everything. I staked out a spot under an overpass in the outlaw’s general area and waited. Blankets covered every inch of me, my hair as messy as I could make it. With all my traveling, I had not shaved in a few days, so I had a light stubble on my face.

Problems: I wrote very little today and I’m upset. And you know it’s NaNoWriMo when “very little” is 1200 words.

Where To Head Tomorrow: Just write at least 1,000 words. I’m booked the whole day…except maybe the morning, depending on whether I have to help install a toilet or not.

