2013-Winner-Facebook-ProfileLadies and gents, I know I have not updated since nearly a week ago. You probably remained in suspense for most of the Thanksgiving weekend, wondering if I wrote the last 1400 or so words to hit that 50,000 word mark for NaNoWriMo.

Well, ladies and gents, I did! And I did it last Wednesday, four days early. So let’s stick with the old school format that guided me all through November.

Day: -2 or 32

Total Word Count: 50,571/50,000

Favorite Line (or two) Written: “The juxtaposition in the situation was not lost on me, though I did not have time to appreciate it.”

Inspirational Song: You know, it’s hard to come up with one song that sums up this story completely. For Jason’s side of it, it’s easy enough – “Life By The Drop” by Stevie Ray Vaughan… for Richards’, however…it’s a little more complicated. If I had to make a decision right now, it would be the song that the novel is named after (which I can’t find online anywhere): “After You” by Tommy Dorsey & His Clambake Seven.

Fun Little Snippet From Everything:  It’s one of the last things I wrote and I apparently have a knack for writing great buddy dialogue.

“Patience, my dear Robert,” I replied. “Ethan told us we have to take them out, yes? But did he specify when?” A pause for effect. “Therefore, I say let’s take our time with this one. See where the evening takes us and where we end up.” Crum downed the rest of his glass before he replied.

“Keep talking like that, Mister Richards, and you’re going to have to buy me dinner. I don’t always sleep with strange men on the first date.”

I offered him a wink. “Who says this is our first date?”

As I turned away, I swore I heard Crum breathe, “Stalker.”

Problems: Here’s the deal: After You is supposed to be from both Jason’s point of view and Jack Richards’ point of view. I have to decide if I want to keep their sections separate (have Jason’s be the first half of the book, Richards’ the second half) or if I want to intertwine their timelines and alternate chapters.

Where To Head Tomorrow: Keep writing. Maybe take a bit of a reprieve and then jump right back into it. It’s what I did with On The Border and I never had a dull moment that made me want to stop writing.

Thanks to anyone and everyone who gave me any sort of support. Even a tiny mention of NaNo or asking how it was going had a great mental effect. You guys are awesome.

