You can only tell there’s an ice rink because of the nets, that’s how much snow there is

We are ten days into the new year, and it’s been a little crazy. With the Detroit Red Wings hosting the NHL Winter Classic and a slew of outdoor games on December 31st and January 1st, I spent a lot of time in front of my TV watching the festivities. Then work kicked back in.

And then that polar vortex hit and I have screenshots of the Weather Channel app telling me that the temperature outside was -15F, feels like -35F. And how about the ten inches of snow last Sunday that gave me a “snow day” from work on Monday? (I had to work from home, which was great).

And then there was the epic pond hockey last night that included eight people on the ice at once. Which is more than we’re used to and we ended up working out shifts to take (which we never do) and my whole body aches in the best way.

It’s been crazy.

How about an update on my “resolutions” for this year?

The main one I discussed with you was changing my Instagram account into awesome songs I hear on Sirius XM. And that’s been very successful so far. Just this morning I heard “Hots on for Nowhere” by Led Zeppelin on Deep Tracks (pictured over there).

If you take a look at my Instagram, there aren’t as many pictures of my radio display as you may think, but there’s a lot more than there used to be. There’s also a fun video of pond hockey last night.

On the writing-side of things, I want to write 200,000 words this year (50,000 less than last year). It’s been slower than I wanted so far (4700 words so far). I was having difficulty continuing the companion novel to On the Border, feeling like I needed a break from it.

But can I come up with something completely different to work on? Nope. So I’m back at it, and it’s going quite well, actually.

One thing that’s helping with my word count for the year is a new writing job! And by job, I mean unpaid site that lets me be a nerd. I already write at Octopus Thrower for the Red Wings through FanSided (which I need to write more, I’m so bad this season). One of the guys who writes there asked me to write at FanSided’s new comic book website called Bam Smack Pow!

It’s awesome. While there isn’t much traction yet, Nick and I are getting content up just to have a fuller site. I love my Marvel-related things, and I’ve taken it upon myself to write review for Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (I did this week’s!) I get to focus more on the movies than the comics and when my fiancee is done watching Chuck with me (he’s obsessed and I’m proud of myself. Halfway through Season 2!), I will be doing weekly throwback posts reviewing the old X-Men cartoon from the 90s.

It’s nice to have a change of pace. Also I’m far too excited for X-Men: Days of Future Past, which most people think will be terrible. BUT IT SETS UP APOCALYPSE FOR THE SEQUEL AND I LOVE STORYLINES WITH APOCALYPSE!

So it’s been a slow start to 2014, but I can’t complain. It’s been wonderful, albeit a little frustrating at times. Tomorrow I’m doing a radio interview! That should be fun! More details to come on Monday!

