GOTG_Payoff_1-Sht_v4b_Lg-610x903[This is my recurring series post that apparently only gets an update once every five months.]

In my first installment of this, I discussed my love of Marvel, my blogging job at Bam Smack Pow!, and my excitement for X-Men: Days of Future Past.

My excitement is at peak levels for DOFP since it comes out on Friday, though I won’t be able to see it until Monday (both brothers want to see it with me and I can’t see it without them because it was one of our favorite storylines in the 90s cartoon). I’ve held off checking Rotten Tomatoes since last week because the bulk of reviews aren’t in, and that 93% isn’t going to hold and I can’t get my hopes up.

But let’s take a step away from the X-Men side of things (because let’s not even get me started on Channing Tatum cast as the love of my life, Gambit, or you’ll get sick of me angrily ranting) and focus on the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Namely, Guardians of the Galaxy.

I have said on many, many occasions that I know nothing about this section of the universe, but the teaser trailer back in February has me over the moon about it.

With the official trailer release today, I’m in too deep, guys. My review of it for BSP is right over here.

Why am I so hooked?

I’ve got a confession. The only parts of the Marvel Universe I know are X-Men and Spider-Man and that’s because of the cartoons from the 1990s. Neither of these are owned by Marvel Studios. They have no creative control over them in the film industry. The MCU is made up of characters I really didn’t know before the first Iron Man came out in 2008.

I try to see every MCU movie the weekend it comes out. I end up watching Thor every time it’s on TV. I do weekly recaps for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.. I could watch The Avengers every single day for the rest of my life and never tire of it.

Marvel Studios has made me want everything they put out. They have made their name synonymous with quality work, much like Disney does (no wonder Disney is their parent company).

So why am I so darn excited for Guardians of the Galaxy? Honestly, I can’t pin down one reason. I’m not a huge sci-fi geek. I don’t thrive on every single comic book movie that comes out (case in point: I never saw Man of Steel). If this movie wasn’t being put out by Marvel Studios, I probably wouldn’t have much desire to see it.

But it’s in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. And I have to see it.

And we still don’t know who plays Thanos. There’s a lot of mystery. I want to know how this movie will tie in to Age of Ultron. I want to know if it will affect Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. at all.

I want answers. And I will wait to get them as long as I have to.

