In the words of Steven Tyler on the Rockin’ Roller Coaster in Disney World, “How to, people?”

It has been a lifetime since I updated this blog, and that is completely on me. Last week, I had a fantastic conversation on Twitter with a follower/friend about my writing because I linked to this year’s Camp NaNoWriMo, reminding people that sometimes I do write fiction things. Sometimes. “You should always be writing,” she told me.

It’s not that I haven’t been writing; it’s just that I’m writing things that are completely different.

I also switched big person jobs almost two years ago. While my last job was much more sitting on the computer and browsing the internet, this one keeps me busy from 7:40am until I leave at 5pm (and I’m not supposed to be there until 8am).

No longer do I write at Octopus Thrower. Heck, I barely watch hockey anymore (I made a very serious exception for the last game at Joe Louis Arena on April 9th and cried through the whole thing). I still write at Bam Smack Pow, but my itinerary has changed to Legion recaps and reviews of mid- and post-credits scenes for Marvel films.

But where the bulk of my writing has gone is a site called Culturess, also part of that Fansided family. Remember Nick, the one from Octopus Thrower who took me to Bam Smack Pow? He also dragged me over to Culturess when it launched in August as Fansided’s first all-female entertainment website.

And somehow I switched my Agents of SHIELD coverage to them for the last half of season four and also became one of their go-to people for all coverage Marvel.

What does that mean? Well, when Agents of SHIELD is on, I have four articles to post for it per week plus whatever Marvel news pops up. So I write about 20-30 articles per month. Or, an example when Marvel news was hot: I got home from work, wrote two articles for Culturess, one article for Bam Smack Pow, and then also had my Legion recap that night.

AKA down time to write stories doesn’t really exist much. And I have sorely neglected this writing blog of mine.

I’m trying to keep myself accountable—that’s why I signed up for Camp NaNo this year, setting a measly 10,000 word goal for the month, because it keeps me writing something that isn’t an article. Any time I feel like I might have a few free hours to sit and write, I somehow find myself writing an article instead.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love it. It just feels like I’m sorely neglecting what I’ve done for so long, and that’s write stories.

I can’t guarantee that I will keep writing posts here, just know I’m trying. And if you miss my writing, you can always check me out over on Culturess or Bam Smack Pow.

I have an article about Thor: Ragnarok to write once I hit post on this anyway.

