I can give you lots of excuses as to why I haven’t updated since Christmas (but actually since the end of NaNoWriMo), but then I just picture Jake at the end of The Blues Brothers giving excuses to Carrie Fisher’s character about why he left.

Too much stuff has happened since Christmas–all of it good, mind you, but it’s kept me away from actually updating this place.

January and February were dedicated solely to house hunting. Then I bought a house. We closed on it March 9th. We are also less than five months away from our wedding date. We also moved the fiancee into the house five days after we closed. I’m still trying to balance work and housework and a normal life. I’m still writing at Bam Smack Pow, covering Agents of SHIELD episodes and just did this cool piece on eBay sales data.

On a sad side, I no longer do Red Wings blogging at Octopus Thrower. With life getting in the way of being so involved and invested in it, I just can’t keep up anymore. Analytics are diving deeper than anyone ever imagined and I don’t have the time, so I gracefully bowed out…except my Twitter account is still 80% capslock tweets about games.

cover copySo how am I still keeping writing in my life? Well, it’s tougher than you think, but since it’s part of what keeps me sane, I found a good way to keep it up! I’m writing about my home-owning adventures over at Wattpad! They usually sponsor NaNoWriMo and I thought, what’s a better way to keep myself writing?

Write about what I’m doing.

I know I’m not the only twenty-something-year-old who will be attempting to work on a house and get married in the same year. I’m sure others who have gone through it or will go through it will find relief in that they aren’t alone. It’s a terrifying dance. Growing up blows. (Maybe that’s why I’m so emotionally invested in Avengers: Age of Ultron…nah, that’s getting too deep).

So if you really want to keep up with me and what’s going on in my life, the entire story so far is OVER HERE!…even though it’s nearly a month behind at this point. It’s full of lots of references and even a flashback to how the fiancee and I met!

Just know that I’m still alive and still writing. And if you’re looking for hints at the sequel to On The Border, it is completed. But I need to desperately rework the beginning.